February Recap

subheader_monthlyrecap

It’s my 5th month of tracking, and overall I’m doing alright.  I spent less than I did in October and December, but more than I did in November and January – February’s right in the middle.

Feb13

THE GOOD

Savings. Guys! I finally put money towards my TFSA!  It wasn’t much… less than $100, but it was money I was not anticipating, so rather than blowing it on something I don’t need, I put it right in the bank.

 

THE BAD

Clothing & Misc. I went to the mall and bought pretty things that I probably don’t need.

Fees. I got charged $5 extra for using my debit card too much.  I blame the government of Canada’s phasing out of the penny for this one.

Food. I thought this would be a cheap month food-wise for me, considering I couldn’t really eat (still can’t) after getting my wisdom teeth out, but somehow I (over)spent the same amount I always (over)spend.  In the days leading up to the surgery I went a little nuts on the fast food “because I won’t be able to eat for a week!” and then afterwards when I could eat (some) solid foods again, I went a little nuts again “because I haven’t eaten in a week!

Medical.  The wisdom teeth maxed out my dental coverage for the year in one fell swoop, and still cost me a few hundred bucks out of pocket.

 

THE IN-BETWEEN

No Spend Days.  I had 10 no-spend days in February, but that’s a bit of a cheat.  February is the shortest month, but I was also pretty much on bed-rest for a week there and didn’t leave my apartment.  So while it’s good to have so many no spend days, it wasn’t really by choice.

 

MARCH GOALS

Welp, it’s pretty clear that I suck at making monthly goals, so I’m going to go ahead and not do that this month and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

