It’s Not You, It’s Me: A PF Love(?) Story

For the last 3 months or so, I’ve spent hours in front of a computer screen reading PF (personal finance) blog after PF blog, following PF bloggers on Twitter, and as you can see, writing my own PF related blog posts.  But I think my little PF crush is over…

That’s not to say PF and I won’t still be friends. My Twitter and RSS feeds will both still be dominated by PF bloggers. I will still do my monthly recaps (which I know some of you don’t care about, but it’s helping to keep me accountable).  I will, however, no longer be trying to break into the PF Blogging World.

I’m not even sure why I was trying (if I was trying?) in the first place. I don’t have any new, brilliant insights into finance.  I have two bank accounts, a TFSA, and zero investments. I haven’t taken so much as a math class since grade 11 (which was, er, geez… 13 years ago?). I don’t want to “compete” with the bloggers that have been on my radar – I want to learn from them. And I have – to the point where I think I need to stop consuming so much of it and focus on something else. At the moment, that’s finding a new job. Overall, it’s getting this 101 Things list updated and back on track.

My personal finance situation is still, well, not great. (Student loan debt the size of a mortgage, a low-paying dead-end job, a negative net worth, practically living pay-cheque to pay-cheque, etc.) But, I’m so much better off before this little PF crush of mine began.  Maybe if/when my financial situation changes I’ll start crushing again, but I’m sorry, PF.  Based on psychologists this internet meme, it just wasn’t meant to be.

4monthcrush

6 thoughts on “It’s Not You, It’s Me: A PF Love(?) Story

  1. I like reading about your monthly recaps 😀 The important thing is to do what you want to do, for yourself. Good luck with your job search. Maybe you can find some part-time work like getting your old bar manager job back while you’re looking for a full time position related to your main career (^_-)

    • Yay – I”m glad becasue I like doing my monthly recaps 🙂

      I’m still (unfortunately) working as the PT bar manager – I’ve just had waaaaay less hours in the new year (which is both good and bad). I should be using my free evenings to apply for jobs, but I usually just go to bed early.

  2. Oh this post is so sad. Don’t leave. I just visited your site after you commented on mine and would love to read more. Hope you keep blogging even if it’s not specifically personal finance related. What do you think made your crush go away? Do you think the community isn’t supportive? Does it seem intimidating? Just thought I would ask.

    • What brought on this post was the fact that I had begun regulating myself – I wouldn’t blog about X or Y because it wasn’t related to PF. I had this overwhelming, nagging desire to “fit in” with the PF crowd that I felt like I couldn’t even post about my “101 Things in 1001 Days” project (which is why I started this blog in the first place). I was trying to jump into this blogging community head first. I was only allowing myself to write about PF related things. I was trying to force my voice to echo other bloggers instead of letting my own develop. I had to “one-up” them to prove I belong.

      The PF blogging community can feel cliquey at times, and it can make one feel invisible. And jealous. (“How are you getting 50 comments on this very generic post when I’m lucky to get 2 comments on something I’m really proud of?”) I now realize that it’s because a lot of the bloggers are actually friends with each other, and have known each other (whether in real life or online) for years in many cases. As well, most of these blogs have existed for years. They’ve had time to find their voice, build their audience, make their connections, etc. Although I’ve been blogging for years, I’m a newbie here, but I wanted immediate results and popularity, even though this is still just a hobby.

      I would like to clarify that NO ONE ever made me feel unwelcome. It was all me sabotaging myself. I’ve actually found a lot of support from this community – from comments like these to being sent a resume to use an example when I was redoing mine. (Thank you so much for that!)

      I will DEFINITELY keep blogging! I really hope it doesn’t sound like I’m quitting… if so, that’s not my intention at all! I will, undoubtedly, still write about PF related things, too, but I am no longer going to limit myself to writing only PF related things.

  3. I really like your blog. I am new here but I hope you won’t quit altogether. Please don’t feel like you have to write about just one thing. Blogging can be whatever you make it. I feel that the PF world is kind of cliquey but I have found that writing about more than one things help. Good luck

    • Thank you! I definitely got in the mindset that it all had to be about PF, which was obviously very limiting and made me not want to blog some days. Ironically, since I’ve decided that I am going to write about more then just that, I’ve drafted more PF-related posts than non-PF ones.

      So don’t worry – this blog isn’t going away any time soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

