I’M GOING TO QUIT MY JOB

Yes boys and girls, after all the “should I?”, “could I?” back and forth of the last few months year, the multiple blog posts, the whining, the bitching, the endless complaining, I have finally made a decision:

fthis

I’M GOING TO QUIT MY JOB!

For those of you that know me in real life and/or follow me on Twitter, I know this isn’t new news, but it is new to the blog. And after the events of this past week (in which I started collecting my personal belongings and was seconds from walking out the door, only to be stopped by the fact I have to get my wisdom teeth yanked out of my face next month and can’t afford to pay for it without my health benefits), it’s clear that I’ve got to take this declaration seriously, so that I can walk out the door without any regret.

Now, I’m no dummy. As tempting as it is, I’m not going to march into my bosses office and politely hand over a letter of resignation and sheepishly give them the ol’ “it’s not you, it’s me” spiel (or if I’m being honest, tell them where they can shove this job).  No, no. I’m giving myself time to hopefully find a new job before leaving this one. I say hopefully because this will be my last season working at the theater, even if I haven’t found something else by that point. I’m hoping it won’t come to that! If it does, I’ll likely look into temp work, as I know a lot of people that have landed FT jobs thru temping, including my mom. I’ll worry about Plan B if it comes to it – but I mentally and physically cannot (and will not) take another year of this.

I’ve already began applying, but I haven’t really put much effort into it yet, trying to hold out for that one perfect job posting. The job market really does suck though, and each day it’s become more and more apparent that holding out isn’t going to get me anywhere.

Most of the postings that do interest me either pay the same or less than what I’m making now, or are contract positions.  Initially, I wrote them off, but I’m now rethinking that. I’ve been overlooking the other benefits these jobs likely have – health insurance, room for promotions/raises, a regular schedule, and most importantly, getting me out of the toxic work environment I’m currently in.

My resume and cover letter really need an overhaul. Neither have been updated in nearly 4 years, and don’t include the two three jobs I have been working during that time. Chances are I’m going to have to enter a new field, and I’m ok with that, but that’s been a factor in my procrastination. There is a growing list of fields that interest me and many of them are similar to what I do now, but the resume will require some tweaking to better sell myself and land me some interviews in those areas.  It’s such a daunting task and I’ve been putting it off because by the end of the day, I’m so overwhelmed and stressed that I just want to lay on my couch and drink Bailey’s. No more excuses, Amanda!

sometihngborrowed3gif

Aww… thanks John!

I’m going to quit my job. There is a ton of anxiety behind those six little words, but there is it. And now it’s out there for you all to help keep me accountable, and hopefully to support me in this decision.

11 thoughts on “I’M GOING TO QUIT MY JOB

  1. Eeeee, good luck! I definitely agree with John Krasinski: you deserve to be happy, and it’s great you’re taking the steps to achieve that happiness. Job hunting is never easy, but I’m sure you’ll find something that even if you don’t love, will at least like, and then from there you can figure things out once you get out of your current toxic work environment. 🙂

    • It’s funny because I originally wrote “Jim” in the caption but caught my mistake before publishing the post.

      I’m definitely looking forward to meeting new people. Thanks!

  2. Congratulations, and good luck! I wouldn’t necessarily overlook contracting positions either – they can pay well and can be extended. Crossing my fingers for you! You deserve to be happy at work.

  3. Pingback: It’s Not You, It’s Me: A PF Love(?) Story | Miss Amanda 101

  4. Pingback: 101 General Update | Miss Amanda 101

Leave a Reply

