A BAD CASE OF THE MONDAYS

I’m not normally one to complain about Mondays, but this past Monday was definitely Garfield worthy:

Within the first hour at work, I got yelled at by a parent, and then we had an entire school cancel their tickets to a performance due to the teacher strike.  A lot of the funding for my department is based on attendance so this will not help my chances of getting a raise anytime soon.

On Sunday, I woke to find a puddle of water in front of my fridge, and everything thawing in my freezer.  Called the landlord, turned up the temperature, and started to cook what I could because the fridge was fine.  (In theory having nearly a pound of bacon to myself was a great idea! But trust me, the novelty wore off quickly.)  By lunch when my landlord came by, things were the same – freezer dying, fridge fine. I didn’t get home from work until 9:30pm, and upon checking it, a wave of heat came out of both the freezer and the fridge.  So all that food I spent Sunday cooking was garbage.  Fortunately, I don’t cook; my fridge contained mostly beer and condiments and I ate most of what was in my freezer last month when I vowed to spend less on fast-food. I still threw out at least $100 worth of food though, and will have to replace a lot of it.  Now I’m back to relying on the fast-food and the few groceries I can leave at work, as it’ll be at least another day before my fridge is fixed/replaced.  (Thankfully this expense falls on the landlord!) But this is still going to cost me.

Amongst all this, I also discovered that someone keyed my car in the parking lot at work. There is a scratch all the way down the passenger side. Thankfully it’s just a scratch and not a swastika or something offensive, but still, it made me cry.  Although it’s not a priority at this point, I do plan to talk to dealership about fixing it next time I bring my car in. So this too will cost me.

car_scratch

And lastly, my wisdom teeth. I gotta get those suckers pulled out of my face. Although I have benefits at work, I found out on Monday that they won’t cover the whole $1900, and I’m going to have to pay $400-$500 out of pocket. Because one tooth is growing into a nerve, I’m going to need at least 4 days to recover, meaning I have to burn a few vacation days (because we don’t get sick days here).  Another thing that’s going to cost me.

All in all, I estimate this Monday is going to unexpectedly cost me $600-$850 (or more?).  I guess this is why all the PF bloggers stress the importance of an emergency fund, huh?

Share

One thought on “A BAD CASE OF THE MONDAYS

  1. Aww Amanda, that really blows. Especially about your car! Ours has a few dings but the worst was done by someone who smashed into it then drove off without leaving a note (big dent in the front bumper corner and nasty paint scratches – looks awful). People suck sometimes.

Leave a Reply

