There’s a Mouse in my House

I have a serious mouse situation happening in my apartment.

I first noticed the mice two winters ago, but after catching a few (humanely, thanks to the trap I “borrowed” but still have from a friend) they went away.  I had a few more last winter, but again, they went away pretty quick.  In the past 2 months, I’ve caught about 10 more; 7 in the last 2 weeks.  Yes, 7.  (Plus one dead one, but I don’t want to get into that.)

This thing works amazingly!

Overall, I don’t mind rodents.  I’ve had many pets of rodent variety throughout my life, including a wild mouse my dad brought home from work once.  I’ve been tempted to keep the mice I’ve caught as pets too, but haven’t.  They are just so freaking cute though!! And make my skin crawl significantly less than the insect problem I get every spring/summer in this place too.

See how cute I am!?!

What does bother me is cleaning up after them.  My kitchen cupboards are all white, so it’s pretty clear where the little buggers have been.  I often don’t have the time to clean up after myself, so this isn’t helping.

I also haven’t been feeling the greatest in the last 2-3 weeks, so the hypochondriac in me is wondering if the mice have given me a disease or something.

What pisses me off is the balls on these mice!  (Haha, that’s a funny mental image.)  But what I mean is, these things don’t even run away or hide from me anymore.   I can be in the kitchen, doing the dishes or something, and one will run out around the garbage can, or get into the cat food not 3 feet away from my feet.  Yes, I have not one, but two cats, and I still have a mouse problem.  (There are 4 cats between the 3 apartments in the building.)

Two days ago I was pulling stuff out from under my sink to clean up all the little mouse poops from under there with my shop-vac in hand, and there was a little mouse, sitting behind the Drain-O just looking up at me, not really sure where to go.  I had nothing to grab him with, so I tried calling my (useless) cats over to at least keep it there so I could grab find something, but no.  The mouse just ran out, around the corner and hid under my bookcase.  One cat sorta flinched, but that was about it.

It's pretty much like this.

So now my kitchen is out of commission.  My boyf came over last night, and we had to go out to eat because there was nowhere to cook (aw, sucks to be us, huh?).  The entire contents of my kitchen cupboards are now sitting on my kitchen table and countertops, with the doors all wide open, it hopes that the mice will go away if there is nowhere for them to hide.  I’ve blocked off all the holes around pipes and things that I can find with steel wool, because mice allegedly can’t chew through it (I’ve seen evidence of them trying though).  I’ve places cotton balls soaked in peppermint oil everywhere because this is supposed to detract mice as well.  I don’t know if that’ll work, but it does smell good.  I’ve become obsessed with checking the live-trap I have for new mice, checking my wide-open and empty cupboards for any new evidence, and think that every movement I see out of the corner of my eye is a mouse running across my floor.

If this doesn’t work, I am definitely moving out.  Or getting a new cat.

3 thoughts on “There’s a Mouse in my House

  1. Pingback: My “Eff Yeah 2012″ List

Leave a Reply

