Goal #58. Take a fitness class – Completed


Ok, so this is a bit of a lie, but I think it I’ve actually done one better than simply taking a fitness class with this one.  I joined a gym!

I had looked into joining a gym earlier in the year when my initial attempt at signing up for a class failed (due to my whacked schedule), but they all pretty much have a one-year commitment attached to them.  I wasn’t sure I could make such a commitment, so I sort of stopped looking.  But I was talking to a friend of mine who was considering moving here, and she mentioned that The Athletic Club has a lot of drop-in group classes, at various times, that should work with my schedule.  So I looked into it, and saw that they offered a one-week free trial.  I figured I had nothing to lose, and signed up.  They gave me a little tour of the space – which includes a women’s only weight room – and then almost immediately sat me down to go over the costs.  And, surprise surprise, you had to sign up for 12-months to get the $40/month rate.  (Alternatively, you could sign up for a minimum of 4 months for $65/month.)

After my week was up, work got chaotic, and I sort of forgot about the whole thing.  But as soon as things calmed down again, I started to miss it.  I headed over to good ol’ Kijiji to look for people who were trying to get out of their year-contracts, and ended up buying the remaining 6 months off of someone.  (I had to pay $50 to transfer the account, but I saved the $90 enrollment fee that I would have been charged if I signed up brand new.)

It’s been about 10 days now that I’ve had my membership, and I’ve hit the gym 4 times, and have already started saying things like “hit the gym”.  I have mostly stuck to the cardio machines because I like to have pretend races in my head against the people on the machines near me.  And I don’t really know how to use the weight machines (so I tend to be a creepster and watch other people to “learn”).

Now that work is about to get chaotic again, I hope that I’ll still be able to hit the gym (hehe) at least twice a week.  And maybe one day get to one of these group classes.

2 thoughts on “Goal #58. Take a fitness class – Completed

  1. If you want to do weight training you should do free weights, not machines. This site http://www.stumptuous.com/category/training/dork_to_diva has a bunch of workouts how-to’s specifically aimed at women. If you’re really interested I can send you a lot more info from my forum (I did a lot of research into it, but couldn’t afford to actually go to a gym, so I have the info, but not the equipment)

  2. Pingback: Money vs. Life

Leave a Reply

